Skip to content ↓
Ivybridge Community College

Ivybridge Community College

Ivybridge Community College

Glittering Awards Ceremony celebrates Ivybridge Community College’s sporting prowess

  • Exeter Chiefs' star Stuart Townsend interviewed live on stage
  • Hosted by BBC Sport Correspondent Andy Birkett
  • 197 awards claimed by high-performing students
  • 200+ audience members include VIPs parents and students

Ivybridge Community College’s sporting prowess was celebrated at its 2017 Sports Awards Evening, with 197 awards going to students from Years 8 to 13.

The awards demonstrated the College’s strength-in-depth when it comes to sporting talent, with awards being collected by students who not only compete for the College, but also represent their county, region and even country at international events.

While awards were picked up for numerous sports from Rugby and Football to Gymnastics, Swimming and Hockey.  The central theme running through the evening was the value of Sport and its ability to help students grow as individuals and as members of a team.

Highlights of the night included BBC Sport Correspondent Andy Birkett, interviewing Exeter Chiefs player and ex-Ivybridge Community College student, Stuart Townsend, on a live link and Plymouth Argyle player Ryan Leonard on stage.  Stuart also presented a special award for Dedication to Rugby – the Aldridge Rugby Cup, which was awarded to James Dudley.

“It was an amazing evening and the perfect opportunity to celebrate our sporting success, remember some of the best sporting moments from the past twelve months and show our students how proud we are of their achievements,” said Helen Reddy, Head of Performing Arts, who led the team that organised the evening.  “Our athletes work hard, balancing their sport training with their academic commitments and sacrificing many other aspects of their life so that they can strive to improve their levels of performance.  It was a special event in recognition of some very special young people.”

The event, which was hosted by the College’s Director of Sports Academy, Chris Brown, awarded medals and trophies to students and teams that have won prestigious accolades throughout the year.  Some of the highlights of the year included:

  • Jordan Bentley and Rio Garside signing professional contracts with Plymouth Argyle and Jordan Duffey at Cardiff City.
  • Maisie Frickleton attending England Football U14 training camps and performing regularly for Devon U14s.
  • The Gymnastics Team taking the U14 Mixed team and Under 19 Boys' team British Schools titles, with eight further Acrobatic Gymnastics national titles to add to the tally.
  • Jake Myers securing a place on the England team and qualifying to compete in the Royal International Horse Show, the Bolesworth International Show and the Horse of the Year Show.
  • Milly Jinks becoming the female ‘topper’ World Champion and being selected for the Royal Yachting Association’s National Junior squad.
  • Blue Ewer being ranked number one U16 boy and ranked third man in the UK for Paddle Boarding and competing in the World Paddle Board Championships in Denmark.
  • Jacob Jones becoming British Schools Golf Champion and performing on the World Tour with professional golfers including twelve former Ryder Cup players.
  • Pierre Michelin becoming British Judo Schools Champion and earning his place in the British squad.
  • Adam Vosper winning British Judo title, winning medals at international events in Holland and Belgium, and being ranked first in the UK in 2016.
  • Emily Morgan-Hughes reaching the finals of the British Swimming Championships, ranking first in England for the 100m Breast Stroke, and being invited onto the Swim England Talent Pathway.
  • Georgia McCoy placing fourth in the National Girls' Group B Diving Championships.
  • The U15 Rugby team finishing as one of the top four schools in the country and five students being chosen to play for the Exeter Chiefs Academy.

One of the most coveted awards of the night was the The ICC Endeavour in Sport award, sponsored by Devon Fit Camp.  This award was presented to a selected group of students who had made an exceptional effort above and beyond what is expected of them to improve their sporting performance.  This was awarded to ten students: Emily Oakshot, Lottie Grundie, Ben Bishop,
Danny Whit, Lydia Dodds, Miles Whitchurch Coombes, Fanta Diane, Chloe Riley,
Phoebe Sherrell and Sam Dinnis.

In addition to the Sports Performance Awards, the Coaching and Volunteer Award, sponsored by Ivybridge Tennis Academy, was also presented.  This went to Alice Kellet,
Lydia Dodds, Maisie Watts, Maddie Negus and Jack Oatway.

Finally, the most prestigious awards of the night, Sports Team and Sports Person of the Year were saved until the end of the night.  The Team of the Year, The Curry Cup, was won by the U15 Rugby team.  The Male Sports Person of the Year, for his outstanding achievements in Rugby, was awarded to Toby Williams.  The Female Sports Person of the Year, for her outstanding dedication and achievements in her sport of Sailing, was awarded to Milly Jinks.