Skip to content ↓
Ivybridge Community College

Ivybridge Community College

Carnegie Reading Challenge 2018

The shortlists for the 2018 CILIP Carnegie and Kate Greenaway Medals, the UK's oldest and most prestigious book awards for children and young people are revealed.

This is an exciting time at Ivybridge as we kick off our Carnegie Reading Challenge.

What is the CILIP Carnegie Medal?

The CILIP Carnegie Medal is awarded annually to the writer of an outstanding book written in English for children and young people.

Medal holders include Arthur Ransome, C.S. Lewis, Neil Gaiman, Terry Pratchett,            Phillip Pullman and Sally Gardner.

The Carnegie Medal was established in 1936, in memory of the great Scottish-born philanthropist, Andrew Carnegie (1835-1919).  Carnegie was a self-made industrialist who made his fortune in steel in the USA.  His experience of using a library as a child led him to resolve that "if ever wealth came to me that it should be used to establish free libraries."

Carnegie set up more than 2800 libraries across the English speaking world and, by the time of his death, over half the library authorities in Great Britain had Carnegie libraries.

First awarded to Arthur Ransome for 'Pigeon Post', the winner receives a golden medal and £500 worth of books to donate to a library of their choice.  Since 2016 the winner of the Carnegie Medal has also been awarded the £5,000 Colin Mears Award.

This year’s shortlist is - 

Beyond the Bright Sea - Lauren Wolk

After the Fire - Will Hill

Where the World Ends - Geraldine McCaughrean

Rook - Anthony McGowan
Release - Patrick Ness
Saint Death - Marcus Sedgwick
The Hate U Give - Angie Thomas
Wed Wabbit - Lissa Evans

Students taking part in this challenge are expected to read as many of the shortlisted books as possible and vote on who they believe should win.  On Friday, 18 May these students will spend the day in the Learning Resources Centre presenting their favourites and watching live as the winner is announced.

There are a range of styles and themes this year, from colourful magical lands in             Wed Wabbit, to the dark drug wars of America in The Hate U Give and Saint Death. You can use the website to check the themes of all titles.  Learn more about this year’s shortlist here: